Football: National awards finalists, all 4 conferences!

Since they're in direct competition with each other (fight! fight! fight!), it makes sense to list the Canada West, OUA and QUFL national award nominees side-by-side.
  • Hec Crighton Trophy (outstanding player) — Calgary QB Erik Glavic; Western QB Michael Faulds, Laval QB Benoit Groulx, Mount Allison WR-KR Gary Ross

  • Presidents' Trophy Award (top standup defensive player) — Saskatchewan linebacker Taylor Wallace, Western LB-LS John Surla, Concordia LB Cory Greenwood, St. FX LB Tom Lynch

  • Frank Tindall Award (coach of the year) — Calgary's Blake Nill, Laurier's Gary Jeffries, Saint Mary's Steve Sumurah (QUFL is TBA, but how could it not be Glen Constantin of Laval)

  • Peter Gorman Trophy (rookie of the year) — Calgary DT Linden Gaydosh, McMaster CB Cody Lynch, McGill QB Jonathan Collin, St. FX DL Nate Annan

  • John Metras Award (top lineman) — Alberta DE Craig Gerbrandt, Windsor C Matt Morencie, Laval OL David Bouchard, Saint Mary's DE DeVon Hicks

  • Russ Jackson Award (outstanding student-athlete) — Manitoba LB Thomas Hall, Queen's LB T.J. Leeper, McGill REC Charles-Antoine Sinotte, Acadia OL Greg Knight
Predictions welcome. Who knows how you predict them, though. Jeffries over McMaster's Stefan Ptaszek as a coach-of-the-year nominee is a bit surprising. Jeffries did a good job but Mac showed more improvement and had a playoff win (albeit one that came about since they lost to Laurier earlier).
Next PostNewer Post Previous PostOlder Post Home


  1. Where did you get the info about Constantin winning the QUFL coach of the year since it hasn't been announced yet?

  2. Obviously from my very fertile imagination — it's been corrected.

  3. Do the pundits think Sonny Wolfe (McGill) has a shot at being the QUFL nominee? Bringing the Redmen out of the Abyss did not look like an easy feat.