Women's basketball: Canada West awards for UVic's Dykstra, U of S's Thomaidis, others

The women's basketball awards are out for Canada West, the dominant conference of the sport, and to nobody's surprise, Kayla Dykstra was named conference MVP.

Dykstra led the West in scoring, rebounding, and shooting. At least one ranking had her at the top of the country. Any questions?

Pressing commitments leave little time for more involved discussion of the award winners. I will briefly note that the Coach of the Year was Lisa Thomaidis at the University of Saskatchewan, and that the conference's nominee for the Sylvia Sweeney Award (commitment to athletics, academics, and community involvement) is Courtney Gerwing of the SFU Clan, referred to as a "fantastic citizen" by Clan coach Bruce Langford.

The four other first-team all-stars are Robyn Buna and Laurelle Weigl from Simon Fraser (who were also ranked in the conference's top five), the Huskies' Kim Tulloch, and Regina's Jessica Lynch. Except for Dykstra, all four will be in action in Burnaby this weekend at the Canada West Final Four: the University of Alberta is the fourth team participating and all four will make it to nationals due to Regina's status as the host team.

A complete list of winners is available from the Canada West website.
Next PostNewer Post Previous PostOlder Post Home


Post a Comment