Basketball: Canada West men's all-stars (belatedly!)

For anyone who didn't see it in the theatre, Campus Chatter has commentary up on the Canada West men's basketball awards,

MVP (and Mike Moser Trophy finalist) — Trinity Western F Jacob Doerksen (). The only 20-and-10 player in the country presents a very good argument for the national player-of-the-year award. UBC's Chris Dyck (14.0 ppg) ultimately didn't have the big stats thanks to being in a share-the-ball offence. Doerksen and Windsor's Greg Surmacz, the OUA West nominee, present solid cases for the national award.

Rookie of the year — Fraser Valley G Sam Freeman (Burnaby, B.C.) Averaged 13.2 points in 23 minutes, which is efficient by any standard, not just that of a first-year player.

Top defender — Simon Fraser G Frank Bradley (Bedford Heights, Ohio). Not too shabby for the former walk-on.

Ken Shields Award nominee — UBC guard Chris Dyck (Winnipeg). The Can West press release makes note of Dyck notes that his good works include working with Athletes in Action as a coach at camps, an AIDS awareness program called Hoops for Hope and organizing bible study meetings.

Coach of the yearKevin Hanson, UBC. The Thunderbirds are 25-2 in Canada West play, so this was an easy call.

First all-star team — Doerksen, F, TWU; Dany Charlery, G, Brandon (Montreal); Showron Glover, G, Saskatchewan (Fresno, Calif.); Ross Bekkering, F, Calgary (Taber, Alta.); Greg Wallis, F, Simon Fraser (Victoria).

Second all-star team — Dyck, G, UBC; Josh Whyte, F, UBC (Calgary); Henry Bekkering, F, Calgary (Taber, Alta.); Mitch Gudgeon, F, UVic (Victoria); Kris Heshka, C-F, Regina (Gorlitz, Sask.).
Next PostNewer Post Previous PostOlder Post Home


Post a Comment