Football: Sheahan named Coach of the Year

Queen's head coach Pat Sheahan was just announced as this year's recipient of the Frank Tindall Trophy (named after the legendary former Golden Gaels coach, who put up a lifetime record of 106-74-2) at the CIS Coach of the Year Breakfast in Hamilton. It's only the second time a Queen's coach has won the award: the first recipient was Doug Hargreaves back in 1983. Sheahan led the Gaels to the eighth undefeated season in school history this year, but the first one with eight victories and the first one since 1989, when they went 7-0. His team shattered a horde of records along the way, including the most points scored in school history (374). They averaged over 47 points per game during the regular season and only allowed more than 16 points twice.

Other awards given out this morning included the Gino Fracas Award (volunteer assistant coach of the year, named after the former CFL player and University of Alberta and University of Windsor coach who actually was on hand to present the award named in his honour), which went to Terry Chisholm of the St. Francis Xavier X-Men, the NFL Canada Youth Coach of the Year Award, which went to Quinn Skelton of Medicine Hat High School in Alberta, and the Sidney Halter Award (named after the CFL's first commissioner and awarded to an outstanding official), which went to Montreal's Bernie Young. Chisholm has been working with the St. FX program for the last 20 years, and has coached special teams, the offensive line and the running backs during that time period. He's developed all-stars like Sean Mussleman and Paul Carty. The Youth Coach of the Year is also an interesting award, as Skelton gets not only a nice trophy, but also $5,000 in new football equipment for his program and a $1,000 gift card for The Home Depot. Young has worked as an official for over 50 years and has officiated Vanier Cups as well as junior football championships. I'll have more on the Tindall Award later, including (hopefully) an interview with Sheahan.
Next PostNewer Post Previous PostOlder Post Home

1 comment:

  1. It's a shame that SFU's Dave Johnson didn't win the CIS Coach of the Year. He turned around the Clan program in two years! Just another sign that the CIS is really bush league when we all desperately want it to be so much more.