"With 1:19 to go in the game, and Guelph trailing 64-57, Guelph's Nick Pankerichan stepped to the line and sank two free throws. I repeat — and my running totals in my notebook prove it — he sank two free throws. He clearly sank two free throws.The ball going through the basket, that's usually an absolute.
" 'I hit them both,' Pankerichan told me after the game.
"And he did. But the refs — and there were three of them, all supposedly 'qualified' —said he missed the first.
"To put this in perspective, it's like two referees and two linesmen saying a hockey player didn't score on a penalty shot when he clearly did."
Again, it goes back to the main point: More specialized media coverage of the CIS, especially on the blogs, might force some examination of the standards of officiating and record-keeping. There's really no excuse for that happening. Guelph coach Chris O'Rourke, whose team lost 68-60, is figuring out how to appeal, Layson reports.
UPDATE, Feb. 11, 12:15 a.m.: Layson's latest post clarifies that two of the three officials who worked the game -- but not the crew chief -- made efforts to apologize to Guelph, one in person and one via e-mail. It's still up in the air how this will be resolved.
UPDATE, Feb. 11, 11:50 a.m.: Layson points out that it might have been more of a scorekeeping error -- and McMaster hasn't had a whole lot to say about the matter.